0033 (0)4 74 04 38 08 contact@domainegillescoperet.com

OUR ESTATE

Vinegrower, winemaker and brokerOn Domaine Gilles Copéret we use authentic methods to craft our wines, with profound respect for our terroir and its traditions. Annie and Gilles Copéret are epicureans at heart and delight in sharing their love for wine and their Beaujolais home with everyone; be they friends, family or even a tourist passing through.

 

OUR ESTATE

Vinegrower, winemaker and brokerOn Domaine Gilles Copéret we use authentic methods to craft our wines, with profound respect for our terroir and its traditions. Annie and Gilles Copéret are epicureans at heart and delight in sharing their love for wine and their Beaujolais home with everyone; be they friends, family or even a tourist passing through.

 

ESTATE HISTORY

1931

When Charles Trichard died in 1931, Jean Trichard, his only son, took over to become a vinegrower in Régnié. 

1986

The 4th generation of vinegrower-winemakers with a passion for their profession, Gilles took over his maternal grandfather, Jean-Trichard's, estate and made his home in Régnié-Durette. At that time, this little estate covered 2ha (5 acres) of Beajolais Villages vineyards (Régnié hadn't yet been granted Cru status) and 20 ares (half an acre) of Morgon.

1987

Gilles COPERET enlarged the estate by taking on a vineyard as a sharecropper (In the Beaujolais region, sharecropping or métayage, where a landowner entrusts a vineyard to a sharecropper in exchange for half of the yield, remains a prevalent type of tenure) in Fleurie, mainly at the foot of La Chapelle de la Madone. The grapes harvested here went to a wine co-op.

1988

Régnié became a Beaujolais Cru, joining the 9 others: St Amour, Morgon, Juliénas, Chénas, Fleurie, Chiroubles, Brouilly, Moulin-à-Vent and Côte de Brouilly… and Gilles tied the knot with Annie.

1993-1995

Audrey, then in 1995, just after the grape harvest, Mathilde and Guillaume came along to complete the picture.

1999

When Annie's parents retired, a 1 ha (2.5 acre) vineyard of Fleurie was added to the estate.

2005

We decided to build a new chai, equipped with a pneumatic press, stainless steel vats and maîtrise temperature control.

Never losing sight of his repect for tradition, Gilles Copéret uses high performance tools with the grapes being subject to meticulous sorting on the vine.

2018: a year of change

A big change for the estate: the owner of the Fleurie vineyard below Chapel de la Madone, that Gilles and Annie had been tending for 30 years, offered to sell them the plot.

 Helped by their family and friends, they decided to purchase the 2.5 hectare vineyard (6 acres) creating a company called 'Groupement Foncier Viticole de la Madone' - a collectively owned vineyard, and to craft the Madone wine in their cellars.

Because of the amount of adverse weather the estate suffered in 2016 (85% of our Fleurie vines was destroyed by 2 devastating storms) and in 2017 (100% of the yield wiped out in 5 minutes, mainly in AOC Fleurie), we decided to change legal status to help face up to these and similar events: 

The estate is Owner-Vinegrower-Winemaker for all the appellations we tend, as well as being a Broker-Winemaker , meaning that we can buy grapes from other vinegrowers, who we choose for their reliability and vinegrowing ethos in line with that of Gilles and Annie (this makes up around 10% of our activity).

2018: a year of change

A big change for the estate: the owner of the Fleurie vineyard below Chapel de la Madone, que Gilles et Annie travaillent depuis 30 ans, leur propose de leur vendre ses vignes, n’ayant pas d’héritier.

 Helped by their family and friends, they decided to purchase the 2.5 hectare vineyard (6 acres) creating a company called 'Groupement Foncier Viticole de la Madone' - a collectively owned vineyard, and to craft the Madone wine in their cellars.

Because of the amount of adverse weather the estate suffered in 2016 (85% of our Fleurie vines was destroyed by 2 devastating storms) and in 2017 (100% of the yield wiped out in 5 minutes, mainly in AOC Fleurie), we decided to change legal status to help face up to these and similar events: 

The estate is Owner-Vinegrower-Winemaker for all the appellations we tend, as well as being a Broker-Winemaker , meaning that we can buy grapes from other vinegrowers, who we choose for their reliability and vinegrowing ethos in line with that of Gilles and Annie (this makes up around 10% of our activity).

We're writing a new chapter of our story...

Domaine Gilles Coperet is and will remain a family estate

where we are always pleased to welcome people and talk about our work. 

FIND OUT ABOUT OUR WINES

 

DECOUVREZ

NOS VINS

 

At Domaine Copéret, we also welcome groups for convivial tastings.

At Domaine Copéret, we also welcome groups for convivial tastings.

There is no great wine without great grapes.

 Gilles Copéret

THROUGH THE SEASONS

There is a wide variety of jobs to tend the vines throughout the year:

from the grape harvest to pruning via planting... each season brings a new and specific task.  

September, it's harvest time, every job we do leads to this. Picking is by hand, the grapes are picked then sorted at the vineyard by a team of young people from both in and outside France. After a hard day's work they come together for a good meal with great wine.

 

 A film of the harvest at our vineyard below La Madone de Fleurie Chapel. (2016)

 

September, it's harvest time, every job we do leads to this. Picking is by hand, the grapes are picked then sorted at the vineyard by a team of young people from both in and outside France. After a hard day's work they come together for a good meal with great wine.

 

 A film of the harvest at our vineyard below La Madone de Fleurie Chapel. (2016)

 

What landscapes! 
At the end of November, after the first frost that causes the leaves to fall, we can start the long job of pruning. We mainly spur prune using the goblet style and some 'charmette'.
The vinegrower shapes each vine, one by one... up to the following March.
What landscapes! 
At the end of November, after the first frost that causes the leaves to fall, we can start the long job of pruning. We mainly spur prune using the goblet style and some 'charmette'.
The vinegrower shapes each vine, one by one... up to the following March.
Spring is when bottling gets underway.
Outside, we may spread organic fertiliser depending on the needs of each vineyard.
Any treatment is integrated and eco-friendly, and only as necessary, depending on the year. We regularly carry our vineyard studies and analyses.
The vines start to grow...
Grapes peek out...
The month of May is suited to planting. After having pulled up the old vines and cleared the land, everything is ready for plating at our plots at Les Fourchets, Les Chastys and some plots in Régnié.
With more sunshine - differing amounts depending on the year - the vines don their summer dresses. ..

Machine picking...

Machine picking...

Quand les travaux dans les vignes

battent leur plein…

0033 (0)4 74 04 38 08 contact@domainegillescoperet.com

LE DOMAINE

Vigneron, Vinificateur et Négociantle Domaine Gilles Copéret produit des vins de manière authentique, avec un profond respect du terroir et des traditions. Annie et Gilles Copéret, deux épicuriens avertis, adorent partager leur amour du vin et du territoire du Beaujolais avec leur entourage et tous les visiteurs de passage.

 

LE DOMAINE

Vigneron, Vinificateur et Négociantle Domaine Gilles Copéret produit des vins de manière authentique, avec un profond respect du terroir et des traditions. Annie et Gilles Copéret, deux épicuriens avertis, adorent partager leur amour du vin et du territoire du Beaujolais avec leur entourage et tous les visiteurs de passage.

 

L’HISTOIRE DU DOMAINE

1986

Gilles COPERET, passionné par le vin, a repris l’exploitation de son grand-père maternel, Jean TRICHARD et s’installe à Régnié-Durette. Ce petit domaine est composé de 2 ha en Beaujolais Villages (Régnié n’est pas encore Cru du Beaujolais) et de 20 ares de Morgon.

1987

Gilles COPERET reprend des vignes en métayage (mode de faire-valoir pratiqué en Beaujolais : le propriétaire confie à un métayer la culture de la vigne en échange de la moitié de la récolte) à Fleurie, principalement au pied de la Madone. Cette récolte part au sein d’une cave de producteurs.

1988

Régnié devient Cru du Beaujolais et rejoint les 9 autres crus, St Amour, Morgon, Juliénas, Chénas, Fleurie, Chiroubles, Brouilly, Moulin-à-vent et Côte de Brouilly … et Gilles unit sa destinée à Annie.

1993-1995

Audrey, puis en 1995, juste après les vendanges, Mathilde et Guillaume viennent compléter ce beau tableau.

1999

Lors du départ à la retraite des parents d’Annie, une parcelle d’un hectare de Fleurie vient accroître la superficie du domaine.

2005

La décision est prise de construire un nouveau chai fonctionnel, avec un pressoir pneumatique, des cuves inox et une maîtrise des températures.

Tout en respectant la tradition, Gilles Copéret utilise un matériel performant et effectue un tri de la vendange rigoureux sur pied.

2016

2018 : Une année de changements

Le domaine s’agrandit encore avec un hectare de Régnié.

Grand changement pour le domaine : La propriétaire des vignes de Fleurie sous La Madone, que Gilles et Annie travaillent depuis 30 ans, propose de leur vendre ses vignes.

 Avec l’aide de la famille et des amis, ils décidèrent d’acheter les 2,5 hectares en constituant un Groupement Foncier Viticole de la Madone, et de produire le vin de la Madone dans leur cuvage et non plus en cave coopérative.

Devant les nombreux aléas climatiques subis par le domaine en 2016 (85% des vignes de Fleurie détruites par 2 orages dévastateurs) et 2017 (100% de la récolte anéantie en 5 minutes sur l’appellation Fleurie, principalement), la décision a été prise de changer son statut juridique afin de lui permettre de faire face à de tels événements : 

Le domaine est Vigneron-Récoltant sur toutes les appellations cultivées mais aussi Négociant-Vinificateur puisqu’il peut acheter du raisin auprès d’autres vignerons choisis pour leur sérieux , avec la même philosophie culturale que Gilles et Annie (représente environ 10% de l’activité).

2016

Le domaine s’agrandit encore avec un hectare de Régnié.

2018 : Une année de changements

Grand changement pour le domaine : La propriétaire des vignes de Fleurie sous La Madone, que Gilles et Annie travaillent depuis 30 ans, leur propose de leur vendre ses vignes, n’ayant pas d’héritier.

 Avec l’aide de la famille et des amis, ils décidèrent d’acheter les 2,5 hectares en constituant un Groupement Foncier Viticole de la Madone, et de produire le vin de la Madone dans leur cuvage et non plus en cave coopérative.

Devant les nombreux aléas climatiques subis par le domaine en 2016 (85% des vignes de Fleurie détruites par 2 orages dévastateurs) et 2017 (100% de la récolte anéantie en 5 minutes sur l’appellation Fleurie, principalement), la décision a été prise de changer son statut juridique afin de lui permettre de faire face à de tels événements : 

Le domaine est Vigneron-Récoltant sur toutes les appellations cultivées mais aussi Négociant-Vinificateur puisqu’il peut acheter du raisin auprès d’autres vignerons choisis pour leur sérieux , avec la même philosophie culturale que Gilles et Annie (représente environ 10% de l’activité).

Une nouvelle page s’écrit…

Le domaine Gilles Copéret est et reste un domaine familial,

qui prend plaisir à vous accueillir et partager son travail. 

DECOUVREZ NOS VINS

 

DECOUVREZ

NOS VINS

 

Le Domaine Copéret acceuille également les groupes pour des dégustations conviviales

Le Domaine Copéret acceuille également les groupes pour des dégustations conviviales

Il n’y a pas de grand vin sans une qualité irréprochable du raisin.

 Gilles Copéret

AU FIL DES SAISONS

Le travail dans les vignes est varié et se déroule tout au long de l’année :

vendanges, taille, plantations, … chaque saison correspond à un travail manuel bien précis.  

Septembre, le temps des vendanges, l’aboutissement du travail : les vendanges sont manuelles, les raisins cueillis et triés à la vigne par une équipe de jeunes de France et d’ailleurs, qui après une journée de labeur, trouvent le réconfort autour d’une bonne table et de bons vins.

 

 Film des vendanges sous la Madone de Fleurie (2016)

 

Septembre, le temps des vendanges, l’aboutissement du travail : les vendanges sont manuelles, les raisins cueillis et triés à la vigne par une équipe de jeunes de France et d’ailleurs, qui après une journée de labeur, trouvent le réconfort autour d’une bonne table et de bons vins.

 

 Film des vendanges sous la Madone de Fleurie (2016)

 

Quel paysage! 
Fin novembre, après les premières gelées, entraînant la chute des feuilles le long travail de la taille peut commencer, taille gobelet principalement ou en charmettes.
Chaque pied est formé par le viticulteur……..jusqu’au mois de mars prochain
Quel paysage! 
Fin novembre, après les premières gelées, entraînant la chute des feuilles le long travail de la taille peut commencer, taille gobelet principalement ou en charmettes.
Chaque pied est formé par le viticulteur……..jusqu’au mois de mars prochain
Le printemps est d’abord le théatre de la mise en bouteille.
A l’extérieur, un amendement organique est apporté en fonction des besoins de chaque vigne.
Les traitements sont raisonnés et selon les années, plus ou moins nombreux. Une étude des vignes est effectuée régulièrement.
La vigne commence à pousser…
Les raisins pointent leur nez…
Le mois de mai est propice aux plantations : Après avoir arraché les vieux pieds et nettoyé le terrain, tout est prêt pour les plantations des Forchets, des Chastys, des parcelles de Régnié.
Sous le soleil plus ou moins généreux selon les millésimes, les vignes se parent de leur manteau d’été.

Quand la machine vendange…

Quand la machine vendange…

Quand les travaux dans les vignes

battent leur plein…